top of page

Wasco FFA Friends and Family Awards Program

This year, Wasco FFA celebrated the chapter’s 91st Friends and Family Awards Program. At this year’s Awards Night we celebrated and recognized the accomplishments of those involved with the Wasco High School Agriculture Program.

The Parent of the Year Award is given to a member’s parent who has been there for our students and takes time out of their life to not only serve and provide care for their student, but be a parent to all members of our chapter. Wasco FFA is proud to present Mr. Arthur Lee the Parent of the Year Award for his selfless service and guidance over the last 4 years.

The Distinguished Service Award is given to a member of the community who has gone above and beyond for their service to the chapter. This year, Wasco FFA awarded Vianey Padilla and Henry Marin Acosta for their time and dedication they have put in for our chapter.

The Honorary Chapter Degree is awarded to an individual who has rendered outstanding service to the Wasco High Agricultural Department, agricultural education, and/or the FFA. The Honorary Chapter Degree is the highest honorary degree presented by the Wasco FFA Chapter at the annual Friends and Family Awards Program. Congratulations to Mrs. Sonia Wedel for receiving this award and thank you for all you do for our chapter.

The Outstanding Exhibitor Award is presented to one student per species. The Ag teachers determine the winner based on work ethic, responsibility, placing in market, placing in showmanship, and years of experience.

This year’s winners are:

Outstanding Sheep Exhibitor: Lindsay Lee

Outstanding Goat Exhibitor: Jalie Grundt

Outstanding Swine Exhibitor: Issac Ruddell

Outstanding Poultry Exhibitor: Samantha Cortez

Outstanding Diversified Exhibitor: Anthony Reyna

The Star Greenhand Award is awarded to a first year FFA member and is reserved for students who have had projects and are involved in teams and other FFA activities. This year we had three candidates for the Star Greenhand Award. Sesilia Rodriguez, Lauren Lee, and Izick Perez were the top Greenhands for this award. This year, we congratulate Lauren Lee for the Star Greenhand Award.

The Star Chapter Farmer Award is given to a second year member who has consistently been involved in the chapter by having a strong SAE Project and has participated in other FFA activities. Our Top Star Chapter Farmer recipients are Natalia Crane, Amber Newby, and Diego Gomez. Congratulations to Diego Gomez for receiving the 2021-2022 Star Chapter Farmer Award.

Wasco FFA has recognized and honored the best students in the various Agriculture classes offered at Wasco High School.

This year's Outstanding Students are:

Sustainable Biology: Alyze Moreno

Ag Government WACP: Mayrim Limon

Ag Government: Rigoberto Hurtado

Ag Economics: Victoria Juarez

Intro. Ag Mechanics: Logan Parten

Farm Power: Jose Ramirez Medina

Animal Science: Jalie Grundt

Vet Science: Kailin Medina

Plant and Soil Science: Jessica Lopez Diaz

Floriculture: Lindsay Lee

Horticulture: Andrea Milligan

Ag Communications (9th): Dezarae Deleon

Ag Communications (10th Ag Mechanics): Benito Juarez

Ag Communications (10th Ag Business): Yaritma Torres Mendoza

Welding: Jared Garza

Work Horse Award: Samantha Garcia

The DEKALB Award is given each year to a senior who has exhibited leadership, a strong SAE Project, and academic aptitudes. This person receives a plaque, and his or her name appears on the perpetual plaque that is kept in the Ag Department. Congratulations to Christopher Padilla for receiving this award.

Wasco FFA is proud to present our 2022-2023 Chapter Officer Team:

President: Samantha Garcia

VP of Community: Issac Ruddell

VP of Chapter: Dayana Limon Santiago

VP of Members: Natalia Crane

Secretary: Amber Newby

Treasurer: Sesilia Rodriguez

Reporter: Lauren Lee

Sentinel: Arturo Nunez

Congratulations to all who received an award. Wasco FFA is proud of all your accomplishments. Thank you to all who attended our annual awards program.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page